Indian Rivers important Points

Share Free Online Mock Tests and Study Material
Share Free Online Mock Tests and Study Material

The rivers of India are classified into 4 Categories:
1. The Himalayan River System:

2. The Deccan River System:

3. Coastal River System:

4. The Rivers of the Inland drainage basin:


1. The Himalayan River System: These are perennial in nature, snow-fed rivers. During the rainy season they are generally flooded and carry 70 of the total discharge of river water into the sea. The three great Himalayan river systems are mentioned below.

The Himalayan River System
Name    Source    Length    Enters into
Indus River System    Mountain Kailash in Tibet
(near Mansarovar Lake)    2900km    Arabian Sea
Sutlej    Mansarover Rakas Lakes    1050km    Chenab
Beas    Near Rohtang Pass    470km    Sutlej
Ravi    Near Rohtang Pass    720km    Chenab
Chenab    Near Lahol Spiti District of H.P    960km    Indus
Jhelum    Verinag in Kashmir     725km    Chenab
Ganges River System    Gangotri Glacier in the Himalayas    2510km    Bay of Bengal
Yamuna    Yamnotri    1375km    Ganga
Gomti    Gomat Taal (Fulhar Jheel) near Pilibhit    900km    Ganga
Ghagra    Matsatung Glacier    1080km    Ganga
Betwa    Vidhyanchal    480km    Yamuna
Ken    Ahirgawan (Kaimur Range) Jabalpur District    427km    Yamuna
Son    Amarkantak    780km    Ganga
Kosi    Near Gosain Dham Park     730km    Ganga
Chambal    Chambal region in Madhya Pradesh    1050km    Yamuna
Brahmaputra River system
Originates in the Mansarovar Lake in Western Tibet and flows south-west of Tibet as Yarlung Tsangpo River, enters India in Arunachal Pradhesh in rapid descent (where it is called Siang)and slows down in plains of Assam Valley (where it is called Dihang) and is joined by Dibang river and later by Lohit river and thereon gets the name’ Brahmaputra’. The principal tributaries of Brahmaputra in India are the Dhansiri, Puthimari, Subansiri, Jia Bhareli, , Pagladiya and the Manas.     2900km
(A Chinese research has confirmed its origination from Angsi Glacier and length 3848km. But it did not notified by Indian authorities)     Bay of Bengal
(Flows southward through Bangladesh into the Ganges Delta and merges with the Padma river, the main distributaries of the Ganges, then the Meghna on the way to Bay of Bengal)

The holy Ganges is the longest river in the country. The 2900 km Brahmaputra is longer than the Ganges but only one-third of the river passes through India.

2. The Deccan River System: These are seasonal rivers as their flow mainly depends on rainfall. They carry about 30 of total discharge of Indian rivers. The list of important rivers of peninsular India are given in the table below. Godavari River is the largest river system in peninsular India. The Kaveri system is the southernmost in the country.

3. Coastal River System: These are numerous, comparatively smaller, coastal rivers. There are more than 600 such rivers on the west coast and only a few of such rivers drain into sea near the delta on the east coast.

4. The Rivers of the Inland drainage basin: These are small rivers in sandy areas of Rajasthan, called rivers of inland drainage basins, with no outlet in sea, except Luni which drains into the Rann of Kutch. Other such important rivers are: Machchu, Rupen, Saraswati, Banas, Ghaggar, etc.

Name    Source    Length    Enters into
Godavari    Western Ghats    1450km    Bay of Bengal
Krishna    Western Ghats    1290km    Bay of Bengal
Kaveri (Cauvery)    Western Ghats    760km    Bay of Bengal
Pennar    Western Ghats    560km    Bay of Bengal
Mahanadi    North-west of the Deccan Plateau     890km    Bay of Bengal
Damodar    North-west of the Deccan Plateau     592km    Bay of Bengal
Narmada    Northernmost portion of the Deccan Plateau     1290km    Arabian Sea
Tapti    Northernmost portion of the Deccan Plateau    724km    Arabian Sea
Sharawathy    Western Ghats      124km    Arabian Sea
Netravati    Western Ghats          Arabian Sea
Bharatapuzha    Western Ghats      250km    Arabian Sea
Periyar    Western Ghats      300km    Arabian Sea
Pamba    Western Ghats      176km    Arabian Sea
Tungabhadra    Western Ghats          Krishna
Sabarmathi     Aravallies        Gulf of Khambat


More GK Points

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *