Wednesday, June 29, 2022

notes on important indian rivers

notes on important indian rivers


The rivers of India are classified into 4 Categories: 1. The Himalayan River System: 2. The Deccan River System: 3. Coastal River System: 4. The Rivers of the Inland drainage basin: ------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 1. The Himalayan River System: These are perennial in nature, snow-fed rivers. During the rainy season they are generally flooded and carry 70 of the total discharge of river water into the sea. The three great Himalayan river systems are mentioned below. The Himalayan River System Name Source Length Enters into Indus River System Mountain Kailash in Tibet (near Mansarovar Lake) 2900km Arabian Sea Sutlej Mansarover Rakas Lakes 1050km Chenab Beas Near Rohtang Pass 470km Sutlej Ravi Near Rohtang Pass 720km Chenab Chenab Near Lahol Spiti District of H.P 960km Indus Jhelum Verinag in Kashmir 725km Chenab Ganges River System Gangotri Glacier in the Himalayas 2510km Bay of Bengal Yamuna Yamnotri 1375km Ganga Gomti Gomat Taal (Fulhar Jheel) near Pilibhit 900km Ganga Ghagra Matsatung Glacier 1080km Ganga Betwa Vidhyanchal 480km Yamuna Ken Ahirgawan (Kaimur Range) Jabalpur District 427km Yamuna Son Amarkantak 780km Ganga Kosi Near Gosain Dham Park 730km Ganga Chambal Chambal region in Madhya Pradesh 1050km Yamuna Brahmaputra River system Originates in the Mansarovar Lake in Western Tibet and flows south-west of Tibet as Yarlung Tsangpo River, enters India in Arunachal Pradhesh in rapid descent (where it is called Siang)and slows down in plains of Assam Valley (where it is called Dihang) and is joined by Dibang river and later by Lohit river and thereon gets the name' Brahmaputra'. The principal tributaries of Brahmaputra in India are the Dhansiri, Puthimari, Subansiri, Jia Bhareli, , Pagladiya and the Manas. 2900km (A Chinese research has confirmed its origination from Angsi Glacier and length 3848km. But it did not notified by Indian authorities) Bay of Bengal (Flows southward through Bangladesh into the Ganges Delta and merges with the Padma river, the main distributaries of the Ganges, then the Meghna on the way to Bay of Bengal) The holy Ganges is the longest river in the country. The 2900 km Brahmaputra is longer than the Ganges but only one-third of the river passes through India. 

2. The Deccan River System: These are seasonal rivers as their flow mainly depends on rainfall. They carry about 30 of total discharge of Indian rivers. The list of important rivers of peninsular India are given in the table below. Godavari River is the largest river system in peninsular India. The Kaveri system is the southernmost in the country. 

3. Coastal River System: These are numerous, comparatively smaller, coastal rivers. There are more than 600 such rivers on the west coast and only a few of such rivers drain into sea near the delta on the east coast. 

4. The Rivers of the Inland drainage basin: These are small rivers in sandy areas of Rajasthan, called rivers of inland drainage basins, with no outlet in sea, except Luni which drains into the Rann of Kutch. Other such important rivers are: Machchu, Rupen, Saraswati, Banas, Ghaggar, etc. Name Source Length Enters into Godavari Western Ghats 1450km Bay of Bengal Krishna Western Ghats 1290km Bay of Bengal Kaveri (Cauvery) Western Ghats 760km Bay of Bengal Pennar Western Ghats 560km Bay of Bengal Mahanadi North-west of the Deccan Plateau 890km Bay of Bengal Damodar North-west of the Deccan Plateau 592km Bay of Bengal Narmada Northernmost portion of the Deccan Plateau 1290km Arabian Sea Tapti Northernmost portion of the Deccan Plateau 724km Arabian Sea Sharawathy Western Ghats 124km Arabian Sea Netravati Western Ghats Arabian Sea Bharatapuzha Western Ghats 250km Arabian Sea Periyar Western Ghats 300km Arabian Sea Pamba Western Ghats 176km Arabian Sea Tungabhadra Western Ghats Krishna Sabarmathi Aravallies Gulf of Khambat   

No comments:

Post a Comment